Beautiful Things

Over the past month, I have had several conversations about our “mission field”. Before coming to HOPAC, I was struggling with a little guilt. I felt called to work with Third Culture Kids (TCKs) not necessarily Africa. It could be anywhere. I wanted to fully invest in the students I worked with. Not that I didn’t care about the surrounding community, but that wasn’t what I was called to do (work in the slums, squatters camps, orphanages, start churches, etc). I wanted to help with the kids of the families that DO feel called to work in the community. Over the past month, I have had several conversations about our “mission field”. I was relieved to find I wasn’t alone. Our mission field is HOPAC. Just because the students parents are missionaries doesn’t mean their children fully embrace being a Christian themselves and not all our families are Christians. We have many agnostic, Muslim and Hindu families as well. HOPAC has 300-350 students than need people who feel like HOPAC is our mission field.

This past week has been one of those weeks that has recharged me and reaffirmed my call to work at HOPAC (I have had many days and weeks like this one lately! I will save that for another post). Our school chaplain asked for some creative suggestions for our schools Easter celebration. The art teacher, Bible teacher, chaplain and I worked together to create an amazing life changing easter experience. As a class, all the students went through three stations. At the first station, our art teacher played “Creation Calls” by Brian Doerkson. 
After watching this the students created a picture of a sunrise over the ocean. Most of the students were pretty proud of their piece of art. They took it with them to their next station.

the fall

The next station was mine. We covered one wall with palm branches. I told the story of how Adam and Eve lived in the Garden of Eden with God until the serpent came and convinced Adam and Eve to eat a piece of fruit from the tree of knowledge of good and evil. At that point I would pick up an apple, take a bite and the lights would be turned off. I went on to explain how because of that one act of disobedience we all have a sinful nature and read part of the fall from  “Our World Belongs To God” . I concluded by saying what once was beautiful is now broken and I would, with the help of some of my grade 11 and 12 students, rip apart the art the students had made in the previous station. (I am currently the most hated person in Primary!)

The final station was lead by our Bible teacher where he talked about the passover. As the students walked over to this station, they passed the verse Romans 3:23 For all have sinned and fall short of the Glory of God. Paper with words of various sins and pictures of almost every students and staff surround the verse. The students came in and sat at the table and the teacher explained how the disciples didn’t know what was about to happen. The teacher explained the four cups of the seder and how Jesus did not drink from the fourth cup, the cup of protection. Jesus was prepared to take on God’s wrath for all of us.

At the end of the day, all the students K-12 met for an all school assembly. The students were instructed to bring their broken art with them. The chaplain gave a quick recap of the three stations then went on to finish “the rest of the story”. Because of Jesus death and resurrection, Jesus takes our broken pieces and makes something beautiful. Class by class, the students walked to two crosses and put their broken pieces of art on the cross creating a beautiful mosaic. While students were doing that we sang “Beautiful Things” by Gungorprimary cross

All this pain
I wonder if I’ll ever find my way?
I wonder if my life could really change at all?
All this earth
Could all that is lost ever be found?
Could a garden come up from this ground at all?

You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of the dust
You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of us

All around
Hope is springing up from this old ground
Out of chaos life is being found in You

You make beautiful thingssecondary cross
You make beautiful things out of the dust
You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of us

You make me new, You are making me new
You make me new, You are making me new
Making me new

You make beautiful things
(You make me new)
You make beautiful things out of the dust
(You are making me new, making me new)

It was a powerful day. I have talked with many parents and teachers who said it seemed to really make sense to the students. Several have prayed to ask Jesus into their hearts and I am sure many have been wrestling with the message over the weekend. Please continue to pray for our students to fully commit their lives to Christ, to find forgiveness, and see that they truly are beautiful in God’s eyes and pray for our teachers as they reflect with their students. I am humbled to be part of such an amazing community and affirmed in my call to HOPAC!

Leave a Reply

