Broken Hearts

With the start of the new term, I took on some new commitments and made a few changes. One of the biggest changes I made was changing the church I had been attending. It was the best change I could have made. The worship style and theology is much closer to what I am used to. The people are wonderful and the leadership is passionate about bringing Jesus to Dar Es Salaam. God’s Tribe is a new church plant started late summer of 2013. I love the focus on developing community within the church as well as being involved in the community outside of the church. As I was listening to the sermon today, I realized for the first time in many years I felt like I was in the right church (other than Overisel Reformed).

One of the community partners we are developing is with Green Pastures Orphanage. It is a small private orphanage for about 25 kids ages 2-17. Many still have their mom but because of various situations, the mom is not able to take care of her children at this time. God’s Tribe is hoping to be able to get to the orphanage about once a month. This time when we went Pastor Douglas, the man who is running the orphanage, gave us a tour and the history and future plans for Green Pastures. Since Green Pastures is a private orphanage, it is completely dependent on donations. He shared how God continues to provide and they continue to trust and lift up their needs to God and trust. We played with the kids and they performed a small program for us. One of the songs they sang was “God Will Make a Way” (find the lyrics here). These lyrics echoed Pastor Douglas’s story. God provides. Then thinking of the little ones broken hearts when they sang:

He will be my guide
Hold me closely to His side
With love and strength for each new day
He will make a way, He will make a way

I have a heart for the orphans and less fortunate/vulnerable kids. My heart breaks when they ask if I have a mom and dad. My heart breaks when they say my mom told me to go live with Pastor Douglas at the orphanage. My heart breaks when they give me a big hug and cry please don’t leave and ask when I will be back. My heart breaks knowing most of these children will never know what it is like to live outside of the orphanage. It breaks my heart that because I am single, my options to help are limited and I will never be allowed to adopt any orphan in Tanzania. I find comfort in knowing the children at Green Pastures are being raised to know God, to pray to Him for strength and peace and that God WILL make a way for each of these precious ones.

Green Pastures 2 Green Pastures 1

One thought on “Broken Hearts

  1. “God will make a way” has been a favorite of mine for many years. Continuing to pray for you and the work you are doing there=)

Leave a Reply

