2014

It is the time of year for resolutions for the new year. I have my list: Lose weight, read my Bible more, learn Swahili, budget better… you know all the resolutions everyone makes every year and lasts two days. Thankfully every day is a new day to start over! I am not much of a goal setter anyway. God’s plans are always bigger and better than mine. I live day to day seeking to be in His will.

I was able to go home over the holidays and had lunch with some dear friends. As we were talking about the up coming year, I reflected on my last year. At this time last year, I knew God was up to something, but I didn’t know what. I had no plans to leave Calvin in the near future. Living in Africa was not even a thought in my mind! It was exciting to talk the future with my friends knowing God is up to something in their lives and will soon reveal to them the next steps. Next steps are not always easy ones. They might be the hardest steps you have ever taken but when God is taking the lead, we move forward trusting His plan.

Saying good-bye at Christmas was much easier than when I left in October. I was excited to go back to my home in Tanzania and see my students and friends that have quickly become so dear to me. When I first moved here, I was walking back to my place from a neighbor’s house it was dark and I was walking down a hill with my flashlight. It felt like a typical Michigan summer evening and I had a flashback to when I worked as a wrangler at Cran-Hill Ranch when I was in college. I remember those years fondly. When I returned after Christmas, I thought once again I felt like I was at camp. It is a good feeling. A time of growing closer to God, developing life-long friendships, and new adventures. I have been working more with the Grade 11 and 12 students and am enjoying getting to know this amazing group of students.

131220_5885

December was full of Christmas parties, programs, and fun! It was hard to get into the Christmas spirit when it is 90+ outside but the reason for the season is the same and being removed from the hustle and bustle of the American holiday season made it easier to focus on the Jesus birth and all that means.

131220_5864131218_5684

Just before I came home there was an ice storm. Everything was still covered. It was beautiful! I am thankful I for a white Christmas home with my family. Just enough winter for me, lol. I was also able to share in the excitement of the kids new puppy Miss Kitty (Kit). Addy has claimed her even though she is the families dog.

131224_6095 131224_6119

 

Welcome to 2014! I am looking forward to seeing God work. One other resolution I have for 2014 is to communicate better. I will still have my blog. I will also be starting my prayer email ideally two times a month unless there is a more urgent prayer request. Many of you have already requested to be on the list. If you would like to be part of my prayer team, please let me know.

 

 

Leave a Reply

