This is my prayer

A few days after I arrived in Dar, I received this Facebook message from a dear high school friend:

I just went back in time to 1990. I youtubed Petra and found this song. It meant so much to me then, but in a very different way. As I listened to it now I was struck by how much it made me think of you and the journey God has just begun to lead you on. It is my prayer His will is done, through you.

Please listen to it again, and pray with me He will lead you as you teach students over the next 2 years. I hope your day is great today!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eE_mJp0eYto&feature=youtube_gdata_player

“Prayer” by Petra. What a great flashback yet so extremely fitting.  This is my prayer this week. Here are the lyrics:

“Prayer”
[Based on 1 Thessalonians 5:17-18, Ephesians 6:18-19, Matthew 6:9-13]

First I want to thank You Lord for being who You are
For coming to the rescue of a man who’s drifted far
For calling me to be Your son and calling me to serve
Lord the way You’ve blessed my life is more than I deserveKeep the ones I love so dearly
Fill their emptiness while I am gone
And fill the loneliness in meThis is my prayer
Lifted to You
Knowing You care even more than I do
This is my prayer
Lifted in Your name
Your will be done I humbly pray

Let me be the evidence of what Your grace can do
To a generations struggling to find themselves in You
May they come to know the love of God
May their eyes be made to see
Give me the opportunity to share the truth that sets them free
And may unity in all things
Be the banner of Your church
And let revival’s fire begin to burn

As we face the last and final hours
Turn a wayward country back to You
And keep us from the evil that devours
Keep us on the path and lead us through
Keep us in Your light until Your kingdom comes
And our work is done

This is my prayer
Lifted to You
Knowing You care so much more than I do
This is my prayer
In Jesus’ name
Your will be done I humbly pray
This is my prayer

I am going to let those be my words this week. I couldn’t say it any better
So what has been happening since I have arrived? A week after I arrived, we had a week break. A new friend and I went to Zanzibar for the week. It was a good, interesting experience.  Lots of photography opportunities! I will leave you with a few pictures from my week in Zanzibar.
 131013_7977bw copy 131013_7979 copy 131014_7935 copy 131014_7939 copy 131014_7952 copy 131015_7929 copy 131016_7919 copy 131016_8162 copy 131016_8180 copy 131017_8287 copy 131018_7912 copy 131018_8096 copy 131018_8105 copy 131018_8153 copy
Leave a Reply

