His Timing, Not Mine

A phrase I have been telling myself, others have been telling me, and I know to be true, but still hard. Orientation started yesterday. I am still in Michigan 😦

I am most definitely still going, just not when I had planned to go. In a way it is a good thing. I was able to go camping with my family this past weekend and I still have a ton to do before I leave. It is hard because I know friendships are forming and everyone is learning so much. I am afraid of feeling left out and out of the loop. It is scary enough to move to another country and then to move later than planned just increases the anxiety a little. On the other hand, it increases the excitement! I have been able to get to know a few people who moved there this summer or previous years so it is fun reading their posts and thinking, I get to be part of this soon! I also received an email from the principle that read, “I’ve been spending a lot of time this last week reviewing exam results with students, talking through courses they will be taking in grades 11 and 12, and realizing just how valuable it will be to have you around here!” It is encouraging to know I am needed!

So why haven’t I left yet? My support isn’t QUITE where it needs to be yet. I am now at 100% of my start-up costs (Go God!) and 55% of my monthly support pledged. I have changed my leave date to the week of Sept. 23. In order to be able to do that, I need to raise about 8,000 in support either in one time donations or monthly pledged support to be at 90% 12,000 to be at 100%. It is so doable!

To help close the gap, I am hosting a Fundraising Dinner/Auction/Good-bye party Sept. 7 at the Overisel Community Hall. from 5-9. More information is available on my Facebook Event. I will try to keep this updated as well.

Come enjoy good food, a few games for kids, and a silent auction!

Menu: BBQ sandwiches and sides. Suggested donation $5/person

Silent Auction Items (Items being added daily):
Gift Certificate for PawzNClawz Pet Salon
45 min. Photography session (Family or portrait) with Meg Van Kampen Studios, LLC
Prints from Rebecca Laarman Photography
1 pie a month for 6 months
Crochet Scarf
Sign from Life Expressions By Tabitha (Independent Consultant)
Necklace from Oragami Owl
Basket made in Uganda from Global Gifts GR

This will also be my good-bye party!

If you are unable to come but would still like to support my ministry, donation information can be found on my blog: https://rebeccalaarman.wordpress.com/join-the-team/

Hope to see you there!

I will leave you with a few pics from our vacation boating on the inland waterways in Northern Michigan 🙂

Thank you all for your support and continued prayers!

130816_5140 130817_5088_1 130817_5113 130819_5146_1

 

Leave a Reply

