Be Still And Know…

June 5, 2013

Be Still And Know Than I am God. Ps 46:10

A small, but very powerful verse! Eight little words that bring focus, peace and calm when I find myself saying, “What do you think you are doing moving to Tanzania?! You will never get everything done in time! You will never raise all the support you will need. Are you even equipped to do this job?!” Then God speaks, “Be still and know that I am God!” Deep breath… HE is in control not me.

And He has called me to Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania for His reasons, not my own. He has been watering the seed of this calling for many years. Of course, I didn’t recognize this until His timing was right. But now I can see the seed of the call to work with missionary kids and the children of business people overseas was planted almost ten years ago, nearly to the day. I was on a mission trip to Panama with the youth group I was working with in Colorado and one night I received a phone call. It was a parent of one of our translators. There was an opening at their church in Panama and they wanted me to apply. I didn’t understand what God was doing at the time and decided He just wanted me to know I have an impact on students. Ten years later, after doing my thesis project on Third Culture Kids (TCK’s-The correct term for that population of students!), I find myself selling everything I own and trusting God to work through people in my life to financially provide so I can accept His call to be an Academic Counselor at Haven Of Peace Academy (HOPAC) through the missions organization TeachBeyond for the next two years.

HOPAC strives to provide an affordable education to the children of missionaries and full-time Christian service workers throughout Tanzania and East Africa, and extends this opportunity to the children of other expatriates and Tanzanians. HOPAC maintains an environment for students, teachers, staff, and parents that recognizes all people are created and valued by God, encourages them to develop a personal relationship with Jesus Christ, and challenges them to look beyond themselves to serve others.

I am not a risk-taker; at least I don’t see myself as one. So how is it I can find the strength to follow God’s call and trust He is going to provide? Only by His grace! He has surrounded me with amazing family and friends. I have had the privilege of crossing paths with people who I know care about God’s work and God’s people around the world. I know I am not leaving alone. I will be leaving with God opening doors and a team of witnesses supporting me prayerfully and financially along the way.

Will you commit to being part of that team? In order to keep costs low for the families HOPAC serves, each staff member is required to raise his or her own support for all of their needs. TeachBeyond is a well respected organization that comes alongside teachers and staff to serve over 30 international schools around the nation by providing training, support, and help with the fundraising process. I have been challenged to raise $8,000 for start-up costs (housing, furniture, supplies, etc) and monthly support of $1500/mth. For me to leave by mid-August, these funds must be received and/or pledged no later than July 19, 2013. And by God’s grace it will be done!

Please prayerfully consider how you can be a part of my team financially and/or prayerfully.

* Financially- Please follow the instructions on the enclosed page.
*Prayerfully- Simply email rlaarman@teachbeyond.org to be added to my prayer email list.

*You can also follow my adventures at http://www.rebeccalaarman.wordpress.com

Thanks so much for considering how God may be asking you to help support me in ministering to TCK’s in Tanzania.

Blessings to you,

 

Rebecca Laarman

Leave a Reply

